5-time champ races 800 meters (she’s 34 weeks pregnant)

Running News

Alysia MontanoWhoa. Thirty-four weeks pregnant,  five-time national champion Alysia Montano ran the 800 meters in the U.S. Track and Field Championships. She finished to a standing ovation.

Don’t worry – her doc okayed it.

“I’ve been running throughout my pregnancy and I felt really, really good during the whole process,” Montano told the Associated Press.

Montano finished in 2 minutes, 32.13 seconds — nearly 35 seconds slower than her personal best of 1:57.34 in 2010 in Monaco. She finished last in her heat, but days that didn’t matter.

“I just didn’t want to get lapped and be the first person to get lapped in the 800,” said Montano, the 800 national champion the past four years.

Montano says exercising during pregnancy is a good thing. “What I found out mostly was that exercising during pregnancy is actually much better for the mom and the baby,” she says. “I did all the things I normally do … I just happened to be pregnant.”

We won’t be surprised if that baby comes out with running shoes!

Leave a Reply

